Fire Suppression

The Fire Suppression Division is the actual “firefighting” aspect of the Fire Department.

This division is the most “visible” part of the fire department as the members of this division are in the public’s eye as they respond to fires, automobile accidents, first aid calls, etc.


This division consists of three (3) shifts - “A” (Red Shift), “B” (Black Shift), and “C” (Green Shift). An Assistant Fire Chief who maintains the operations of his shift through his seven (7) District Fire Chiefs supervises each shift. The District Fire Chiefs supervise the operations of the fire stations – 19 throughout the city –that is divided into five fire districts and manned by assigned Fire Captains, Fire Equipment Operators, and Firefighters.

  • District Number 1 - Fire Stations 1, 2, 11, and 12
  • District Number 2 - Fire Stations 5, 6, 7, and 8
  • District Number 3 - Fire Stations 9, 10, and 15
  • District Number 4 - Fire Stations 13, 17, 18, and 19
  • District Number 5 - Fire Stations 3, 4, 14, and 16

Fire Chiefs

The Deputy Fire Chiefs work straight days, Monday through Friday, with one Deputy Fire Chief responsible for each of the following aspects of fire suppression:

  • Assigns work schedules and approves leave
  • Manages suppression of working fires
  • Inspects the appearance of assigned equipment, buildings, and personnel